Sts. Martha, Mary and Lazarus new Memorial Feast

The July 29 feast day of Sts. Martha, Mary, and Lazarus will now appear in the Church’s calendars and liturgical texts as a memorial. Sts. Martha, Mary, and Lazarus were three siblings living in the town of Bethany outside of Jerusalem during the time of Christ. Pope Francis had included the three saints in the General Roman Calendar “considering the important evangelical witness they offered in welcoming the Lord Jesus into their home, in listening to him attentively, in believing that he is the resurrection and the life.”

The pope’s decree said that “in the household of Bethany the Lord Jesus experienced the family spirit and friendship of Martha, Mary, and Lazarus, and for this reason, the Gospel of John states that he loved them.”


1 John 4:7-16

John 11:19-27 OR Luke 10:38-42

“I am the resurrection and life.

Anyone who believes in me,

Even though that person dies, will live,

And no one who lives and believes in me will ever die.

Do you believe this?’

John 11:26

Jeus and Lazarus 2021 07 27 at 10.07.12 AM